CAST Public Outreach

CAST and Axions in the News

Axions at the Virtual Institue for Astroparticle Physics - VIA

November 28, 2008 - CAST - Hunting Axions from Sun - Axions play an important role as Dark Matter candidate and are the most promising solution to the strong CP-problem. Markus Kuster presents a lecture on experimental axion searches and CAST at the Virtual Institute for Astroparticle Physics - VIA.

Lecture (follow the link and klick on 'Previous/Lectures')


Axions in the CERN courier

March 20, 2008 - The enigmatic Sun: a crucible for new physics - The nearest star to Earth harbours a surprising number of unexplained phenomena, despite its proximity. Could astroparticle physics, and in particular particles like the charismatic axion, hold the key? Konstantin Zioutas believes that they could.

Read More


3rd Joint ILIAS-CERN-DESY Axion-WIMPs Training Workshop

November 20, 2007 - Fundamental physics re-explored in Patras - More than 50 participants from around the world and from experiment and theory alike met in Patras for the 3rd Joint ILIAS-CER-DESY Axion-WIMPs training workshop on 19.-25 June. Josef Jochum of the University of Tübingen and Axel Lindner of DESY organized the meeting with Konstantin Zioutas of the University of Patras and CERN. It provided stimulating talks with new results and much discussion.

Read More


CAST and ASPERA

September, 2007 - Perfecting the Solar axion hunt at CERN - CAST is a CERN Astroparticle physics experiment, what searches for axions, particles that according to theory are abundantly produced in the sun's core. Axions were originally proposed to solve the strong CP problem, a serious problem in the prevailing theoretical framework of Particle Physics but were soon recognized to be one of the most important dark matter candidate particles. So far this new particle remains elusive, with all efforts to detect it producing null results.

Read More


CAST in Welt der Physik

August 27, 2007 - CAST - Axions from Sun's core - Since 25 years physicists are searching for a hypothetical particle named axion. On the one hand as a relict of the big bang it could explain a fraction of the yet not identified dark matter, on the other hand it would solve a fundamental problem of the Standard Model of particle physics. The experiment CAST at CERN searches for axions, which are produced in the core of Sun.

Read More (in German)


Axions in the CERN courier

March 02, 2007 - Axions create excitement and doubt at Princeton - The lightweight axion is one of the major candidates for dark matter in the universe, along with weakly interacting massive particles. It originally arrived on the scene about 30 years ago to explain CP conservation in QCD, but there has never been as much theoretical and experimental activity in axion physics as there is today. Last year, the PVLAS collaboration at INFN Legnaro reported an intriguing result, which might indicate the detection of an axion-like particle (ALP) and which has triggered many further theoretical and experimental activities worldwide. The international workshop Axions at the Institute for Advanced Study, held at Princeton on 20-22 October 2006, brought together theorists and experimentalists to discuss current understanding and plans for future experiments. The well organized workshop and the unique atmosphere at Princeton provided ideal conditions for fruitful discussions.

Read More


Axions in the FAZ (a german newspaper)

February 18, 2007 - Was this an axion maybe? - Originally "Axion" was a detergent label. "I saw this at the end of the 70's and thought: That would be a nice name for a particle!" the Nobel prize laureate Frank Wilczek remembers. At that time he studied an idea of his colleagues Roberto Peccei and Helen Quinn, which could solve a problem in the theory of the "strong force". He recognized, that therefore the existence of a particle would result - and immediately had a name for it...

Read More (in German)


CAST in the CERN Courier

July, 2006 - Let there be Axions - One of the biggest mysteries of science is the nature of dark matter, which first became apparent as astronomer Fritz Zwicky's "dunkle Materie" in 1933. The two leading particle candidates for this "missing matter" are weakly interacting massive particles (WIMPs) and axions - hypothesized uncharged particles that have a very small but unknown mass, which barely interact with other particles. To bring together the widespread axion community, the Integrated Large Infrastructure for Astroparticle Science (ILIAS), the CERN Axion Solar Telescope (CAST) collaboration and CERN have organized a series of training workshops on current axion research, including open discussions between theorists and experimentalists. The first two of these were held at CERN in November and at the University of Patras in Greece, in May. This article highlights the presentations at both meetings ...

Read More


CAST in Science

April 15, 2005 - Magnetic Scope Angles for Axions - After 2 years of staring at the sun, an unconventional 'telescope' made from a leftover magnet has returned its first results. Although it hasn't yet found the quarry it was designed to spot - a particle that might or might not exist - physicists say the CERN Axion Solar Telescope (CAST) is beginning to glimpse uncharted terretory.

Read More (needs subscription)


CAST in sceneXX

April 14, 2005 - On the trail of relicts of Big Bang - A scientific team looks for Axions within the international experiment CAST (CERN Axion Solar Telescope) at the European research center CERN. These theoretical predicted and electric neutral particles could have survived, as relicts of the Big Bang, in the mysterious dark matter. This matter helps Scientists to explain mass distributions and movements in the universe.

Read More (in German)


MPG Press Release

April 14, 2005 - In search of relicts of Big Bang - Scientists of the Max-Planck-Institutes for Physics in Munich and for Extraterrestrial Physics in Garching look for Axions within the international experiment CAST (CERN Axion Solar Telescope) at the European research center CERN. These theoretical predicted and electric neutral particles could have survived, as relicts of the Big Bang, in the mysterious dark matter. This matter helps Scientists to explain mass distributions and movements in the universe.

Read More


CAST in Nature

April 14, 2005 - The elusive axion - An effect known as charge-parity violation is linked to the fact that the Universe contains far more matter than antimatter, and it is well documented in processes involving the so-called weak nuclear force, one of the four fundamental forces of nature. But it seems to be suppressed by the strong force, and this can be explained by postulating a hitherto undiscovered particle, the axion. Axions interact hardly at all with radiation or other matter, making them hot candidates to be the 'cold dark matter' that is thought to pervade the Universe.

Read More


CAST in the CERN Weekly Bulletin

March, 2005 - CASTing light on dark matter particles - CERN's CAST collaboration recently released first results from its search for solar axions, a candidate dark matter particle. Though they haven't found any axions yet, they have done much to narrow the hunt.

Read More


CAST in the CERN Courier

March, 2005 - CAST sheds some light on axions - The CERN Axion Solar Telescope (CAST) collaboration has released the first results from its search for the solar axion, a viable candidate for a dark-matter particle. The result from CAST's first year of operation, submitted to Physical Review Letters, does not show evidence for the axion but it narrows down the hunt for this elusive particle.

Read More


CAST im Deutschen Fernsehen

December 12, 2004, 4 o'clock p.m., 3sat "HiTec" - The universe consists to 85% of matter, which eludes every known physical theory. Because one knows nothing about it, scientists have called it "Dark Matter". Actually nobody can tell what's going on with this matter, but it could be the key to the beginning of the Universe - and maybe the ignition spark of the future of modern sciences. If the secrets of Dark Matter have been disclosed the physical models will be on trail.

Dark Matter could consists of Axions. These are fundamental particles which are supposed to be lighter than WIMPS. In fact no interaction with normal matter is measurable due to its small mass. But if one cannot measure it, how does one proof its existence?

Read More (in German)


CAST on PhysicsWeb

November 24, 2004 - An experiment built from components recycled from other experiments has put new limits on the properties of particles that might be the "dark matter" that makes up about 25% of the Universe. The CERN Axion Solar Telescope (CAST) was built to search for exotic particles called axions that might be produced inside the Sun. Although CAST did not see any axions, it improved the existing limit on the coupling between axions and photons, which is related to the mass of the hypothetical particles, by a factor of five for masses below 0.02 electron volts (hep-ex/0411033).

Read More


CAST in the CERN Courier

April 2, 2001 - Solar telescope CASTs the net for solar axions - The CERN Solar Axion Telescope, CAST, aims to shed light on a 30-year-old riddle of particle physics by detecting axions originating from the15 million degree plasma in the Sun's core. Axions were proposed as an extension to the Standard Model of particle physics to explain why CP violation - a phenomenon linked to the dominance of matter over antimatter in the universe - is observed in weak but not strong interactions - the so-called strong-CP problem.

Read More

News

CAST Collaboration Meeting, CERN
February, 22.-23. 2010

CAST Collaboration Meeting, CERN
February, 24. 2010

CAST in Wikipedia
The article on Wikipedia about CAST has been updated

Contact

University of Technology Darmstadt

Dr. Markus Kuster

+49 6151 16-2321
+49 6151 16-4321

Institut für Kernphysik

S2|14 219
Schlossgartenstraße 9
64289 Darmstadt

Max-Planck Institute for Physics

Dr. Rainer Kotthaus

Föringer Ring 6
80805 München

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
CSS ist valide!

A A A | Print | Legal note | Sitemap

CAST Pressemitteilungen

CAST und Axionen in den Medien

Axionen am Virtuellen Institut für Astroteilchenphysik - VIA

28. November 2008 - CAST - Auf der Jagd nach solaren Axionen - Axionen spielen als möglicher Kandidat für die Dunkle Materie eine sehr wichtige Rolle und sind die erfolgversprechendste Lösung des starken CP-Problems. Markus Kuster hält eine Vorlesung über die experimentelle Suche nach Axionen und über CAST am Virtuellen Institut für Astroteilchenphysik - VIA.

Vorlesung (Link folgen und auf 'Previous/Lectures' klicken )


Axionen im CERN Kurier

20. März 2008 - Die rätselhafte Sonne: Eine Feuerprobe für neue Physik - Der der Erde am nächsten gelegene Stern beherbergt eine überraschende Anzahl an unerklärten Phänomenen, trotz ihrer Nähe. Könnte die Astroteilchenphysik, vor allem Teilchen wie das attraktive Axion, den Schlüssel liefern? Konstantin Zioutas glaubt, dass dies möglich ist.

Mehr lesen


3ter Joint ILIAS-CERN-DESY Axion-WIMPs Training Workshop

20. November 2007 - Fundamentale Physik in Patras neu entdecken - Mehr als 50 Teilnehmer aus der ganzen Welt und gleichermaßen aus dem experimentellen und theoretischen Bereich trafen sich in Patras zum 3ten Joint ILIAS-CER-DESY Axion-WIMPs Training Workshop vom 19.-25. Juni. Josef Jochum von der Universität Tübingen und Axel Lindner vom DESY organisierten das Treffen am CERN zusammen mit Konstantin Zioutas von der Universität Patras. Es beinhaltete interessante Präsentationen mit neuen Erkenntnissen und eine Menge an Diskussionen.

Mehr lesen


CAST und ASPERA

September 2007 - Perfektionierung der Jagd nach solaren Axionen am CERN - CAST in ein CERN Experiment im Bereich der Astroteilchenphysik, das nach Axionen sucht. Dies sind Teilchen, die theoretischen Erkenntnissen nach in großer Zahl im Zentrum der Sonne produziert werden. Axionen wurden zunächst als Lösung der starken CP-Problems postuliert, ein ernstes Problem in den allgemein anerkannten Theorien der Teilchenphysik, doch schon kurze Zeit später wurden sie als wahrscheinlichster Kandidate für die Dunkle Materie in Betracht gezogen. Bisher ist dieses neue Teilchen jedoch schwer zu fassen, alle Anstrengungen es zu detektieren schlagen fehl.

Mehr lesen


CAST in Welt der Physik

27. August 2007 - CAST - Axionen aus dem Inneren der Sonne - Seit rund 25 Jahren suchen Physiker nach einem hypothetischen Teilchen - dem Axion. Einerseits könnte es als Relikt des Urknalls einen Teil der bisher nicht identifizierten Dunklen Materie erklären, andererseits würde es ein fundamentales Problem des Standardmodells der Elementarteilchenphysik lösen. Das Experiment CAST am CERN sucht nach Axionen, die im Inneren der Sonne entstehen würden.

Mehr lesen (in German)


Axionen im CERN Kurier

02. März 2007 - Axionen verursachen Aufregung und Verzweiflung in Princeton - Die leichten Axionen ist einer der Hauptkandidaten für die Dunkle Materie im Universum, neben schwach wechselwirkender massiver Teilchen. Ursprünglich trat es vor ungefär 30 Jahren in Erscheinung als Erklärung der CP-Erhaltung in der QCD, die theoretische und experimentelle Forschung in Axionen Physik war jedoch nie so intensiv wie heute. Letztes Jahr berichtete die PVLAS Kollaboration am INFN Legnaro von einem faszinierendem Ergebnis, das auf die Detektion eines Axion-ähnlichen Teilchens (ALP) vermuten lässt und das Auslöser für viele weitere theoretische und experimentelle Aktivitäten war. Der internationale Workshop Axions am Institute for Advanced Study, der vom 20.-22. Oktober 2006 in Princeton statt fand, brachte Theoretiker und Experimentatoren zusammen um aktuelle Erkenntnisse und Pläne für zukünftige Experimente zu diskutieren. Der gut organisierte Workshop und die einzigartige Atmosphäre in Princeton waren ideale Bedingungen für erfolgreichen Gedankenaustausch.

Mehr lesen


Axionen in der FAZ

18. Februar 2007 - War das da eben vielleicht ein Axion? - "Axion" war ursprünglich eine Waschmittelmarke. "Ich sah das Ende der siebziger Jahre", erinnert sich der Physiknobelpreisträger Frank Wilczek, "und dachte: Das ist doch ein toller Name für ein Teilchen!" Wilczek befasste sich damals mit einer Idee seiner Kollegen Roberto Peccei und Helen Quinn zur Lüsung eines Problems in der Theorie der "Starken Kraft". Er erkannte, dass daraus die Existenz eines Teilchens folgen würde - und hatte sogleich einen Namen ...

Mehr lesen (in German)


CAST im CERN Kurier

July 2006 - Lass es Axionen geben - Eines der größten Mysterien der Wissenschaft ist die Natur der Dunklen Materie, die zuerst in Fritz Zwickys "dunkle Materie" im Jahr 1933 auftauchte. Die zwei erfolgversprechendsten Kandidaten für diese "fehlende Materie" sind schwach wechselwirkende Teilchen (WIMPs) und Axionen

Mehr lesen


CAST in Science

15. April 2005 - Magnetic Scope Angles for Axions - Nach 2 Jahren Sonnenbeobachtung hat das unkonventionelle "Teleskop", das aus einem übrig gebliebenen Magneten besteht, erste Ergebnisse produziert. Obwohl es noch nicht das nachgewiesen hat, wofür es entworfen wurde - ein Teilchen, welches existieren könnte oder auch nicht - beginnen Physiker durch das CERN Axion Solar Telescope (CAST) unerforschte Gebiete zu betreten.

Mehr lesen (eingeschränkt)


CAST in sceneXX

14. April 2005 - Relikten des Urknalls auf der Spur - Ein Wissenschaftlerteam sucht am Europäischen Forschungszentrum CERN in Genf im Rahmen des internationalen Experiments CAST (CERN Axion Solar Telescope) nach Axionen. Diese theoretisch vorhergesagten, elektrisch neutralen Elementarteilchen könnten als Relikte des Urknalls bis heute in der rätselhaften Dunklen Materie, die den Forschern zur theoretischen Erklärung von Masseverteilungen und Bewegungen im Universum dient, ¨berlebt haben.

Mehr lesen (in German)


MPG Pressemitteilung

14. April 2005 - Auf der Suche nach Relikten des Urknalls - Wissenschaftler der Max-Planck-Institute für Physik in München und für extraterrestrische Physik in Garching suchen am Europäischen Forschungszentrum CERN in Genf im Rahmen des internationalen Experiments CAST (CERN Axion Solar Telescope) nach Axionen. Diese theoretisch vorhergesagten, elektrisch neutralen Elementarteilchen könnten als Relikte des Urknalls bis heute in der rätselhaften Dunklen Materie, die den Forschern zur theoretischen Erklärung von Masseverteilungen und Bewegungen im Universum dient, überlebt haben.

Mehr lesen


CAST in Nature

14. April 2005 - Das schwer nachweisbare Axion - Ein als CP-Verletzung bekannter Effekt ist mit der Tatsache verknüpft, dass das Universum weit mehr Materie als Antimaterie enthält. Ebenso wird er im Zusammenhang mit Prozessen der so genannten schwachen Kernkraft genannt, eine der vier Grundkräften der Physik. Es scheint jedoch, dass dieser Effekt durch die starke Kraft unterdrückt wird, welches durch die Einführung eines bisher unentdeckten Teilchens, das Axion, erklärt werden könnte. Axionen wechselwirken kaum mit Strahlung oder Materie, was sie zu einem heißen Kandidat für die das Unviersum durchflutende "kalte Dunkle Materie" macht.

Mehr lesen


CAST im wöchentlichen CERN Bulletin

März 2005 - CAST bringt Licht ins Dunkle Materie Universum - CERNs CAST Kollaboration veröffentlichte kürzlich erste Ergebnisse von der Suche nach solaren Axionen, ein möglicher Kandidat für die Dunkle Materie. Obwohl sie bisher keine Axionen nachweisen konnten, haben sie viel dazu beigetragen die Suche einzugrenzen.

Mehr lesen


CAST im CERN Kurier

März 2005 - CAST wirft Licht auf Axionen - Die CERN Axion Solar Telescope (CAST) Kollaboration hat kürzlich erste Ergebnisse von ihrer Suche nach solaren Axionen veröffentlichte, ein denkbarer Teilchen der Dunklen Materie. Die Ergebnisse aus dem ersten Jahr des CAST Experiments, die bei Physical Review Letters eingereicht sind, zeigen keine Hinweise auf die Existenz des Axions, grenzen aber die Suche nach dem schwer detektierbaren Teilchen ein.

Mehr lesen


CAST im Deutschen Fernsehen

12. Dezember 2004, 16:00 Uhr, 3sat "HiTec" - Das Universum besteht zu 85 Prozent aus einer Materie, die sich jeder bekannten physikalischen Theorie entzieht. Weil wir nichts von ihr wissen, hat die Wissenschaft sie die "Dunkle Materie" genannt. Noch kann niemand sagen was es mit dieser Materie auf sich hat, aber sie könnte der Schlüssel zum Ursprung unseres Universums sein - und vielleicht auf der Zündfunk aller modernen Wissenschaft. Wenn das Geheimnis der Dunklen Materie gelüftet ist stehen die Modelle der Wissenschaft auf dem Prüfstand.

Die Dunkle Materie könnte aus Axionen bestehen. Das sind nach Elementarteilchen, die wesentlich leichter sein sollen als WIMPS. Und zwar so leicht, dass eine Wechselwirkung mit normaler Materie praktisch nicht messbar ist. Wenn man aber nichts mehr messen kann, wie funktioniert dann der Beweis, dass es Axionen gibt ?

Mehr lesen (in German)


CAST auf PhysicsWeb

24. November 2004 - Ein aus wiederverwendeten Komponenten anderer Experimente gebautes Experiment setzt neue Grenzen an Eigenschaften von Teilchen, die Teil der "Dunklen Materie" sein könnten, welche 25% der Masse des Universums ausmacht. Das CERN Axion Solar Telescope (CAST) wurde konstruiert, um nach exotischen Teilchen namens Axionen zu suchen, die im Inneren der Sonne entstehen könnten. Obwohl CAST noch keine Axionen nachgewiesen hat, konnte es die Grenze der Kopplung zwischen Axionen und Photonen um den Faktor fünf verbessern. Diese Kopplung ist mit der Masse der hypothetischen Axionen verknüpft, so dass diese leichter als 0,02 Elektronenvolt sein müssten (hep-ex/0411033).

Mehr lesen


CAST im CERN Kurier

2. April 2001 - Das Teleskop CAST wirft das Netz nach solaren Axionen aus - Das CERN Solar Axion Telescope, CAST, hat als Ziel Licht in ein 30 Jahre altes Rätsel der Teilchenphysik zu bringen, indem es Axionen aus dem 15 Millionen Grad heißem Plasma aus dem Zentrum der Sonne zu detektieren versucht. Axionen werden als Erweiterung des Standard Model der Teilchenphysik als Erklärung vorgeschlagen, warum die CP-Verletzung - ein Phänomen, das mit der Dominanz der Materie über die Antimaterie im Universum verknüpft ist - nur in der schwachen Wechselwrikung und nicht in der starken beobachtet wird - das so genannte CP-Problem.

Mehr lesen

Aktuelles

CAST Kollaborations Meeting, CERN
22.-23. Februar 2010

CAST Steering Committee Meeting, CERN
24. Februar 2010

CAST in Wikipedia
Der Wikipedia Artikel über CAST wurde aktualisiert

Kontakt

Technische Universität Darmstadt

Dr. Markus Kuster

+49 6151 16-2321
+49 6151 16-4321

Institut für Kernphysik

S2|14 219
Schlossgartenstraße 9
64289 Darmstadt

Max-Planck Institut für Physik

Dr. Rainer Kotthaus

Föringer Ring 6
80805 München

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
CSS ist valide!

A A A | Drucken | Impressum | Sitemap