IXO und SIMBOL-X

IXO and SIMBOL-X are planned satellite-based X-ray observatories. In contrast to the momentarily available observatories such as XMM and Chandra IXO and SIMBOL-X will also be capable of efficiently imaging the hard X-ray region above around 10 keV. This neccessitates Wolter type optics with focal length around 20m, leading to a satellite size exceeding current launch vehicle capacities. Because of this SIMBOL-X is planned as a two satellite concept - mirrors and detectors separeted aboard two spacecraft in close formation flight. IXO which is part of the ESA Cosmic Visions program and NASA's Decadal White Papers uses a different approach and places the detectors at the end of an extendable bench. Both main detectors of SIMBOL-X, a silicon (DEPFET) macro pixel detector for the lower energy range and a CdTe pixel detector for the higher energy range are also part of the IXO instrumentation. Because the science requirements include the observation of very faint source, both detectors for both projects need to have a very low detector background. Our group participates in the development of the macro pixel detector for both projects.

Simbol-X (artists rendition) IXO (artists rendition)
CREDIT: ASI/CNES CREDIT: NASA
SIMBOL-X IXO
planned launch date ca. 2013 ca. 2020
instruments Low Energy Detector, High Energy Detector Wide Field Imager, Hard X-Ray Imager, X-Ray Microcalorimeter Spectrometer, X-ray Grating Spectrometer, High Timing Resolution Spectrometer, X-ray Polarimeter
focal length 25m, two satellites 20m, expandable
effective area > 0.05m2(< 35 keV), 0.015m2(50 keV), 0.001m2(67 keV) 3m2(1.25 keV), 0.65m2(6 keV), 0.015m2(30 keV)
energy range (LED/WFI) 0.5 - 20 keV 0.1 - 15 keV
energy range (HED/HXI) 5 - 80 (100) keV ≤ 40 keV
pixels 128x128 1024x1024
spatial resolution 30" 1"/ 30"
energy resolution (LED/WFI) ≤ 300 eV 50 -150 eV
energy resolution (HED/HXI) ca. 1 keV ca. 1 keV

Weitere Informationen

ESA page on IXO NASA page on IXO


GEANT4 R&D

GEANT4 geometry of IXO WFI

GEANT4 is a software tool kit developed at CERN for Monte Carlo simulations of high energy particle physics processes. Over the years it has continiously been improved and extendend and can now be used to model a variety of particle and radiation interactions with matter. As part of the work for SIMBOL-X and IXO projects our group uses this tool kit for simulation, optimisation and analysis of the expected on orbit detector background. The work also involve development and validation efforts for the tool kit itself, especially regarding radioactive decay and activation.

Contact

Technische Universität Darmstadt

Dr. Markus Kuster

+49 6151 16-2321
+49 6151 16-4321

Institut für Kernphysik

S2|14 219
Schlossgartenstraße 9
64289 Darmstadt

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
CSS ist valide!

A A A | Print | Legal note | Sitemap

IXO und SIMBOL-X

IXO und Simbol-X sind geplante satellitengestütze Röntgenobservatorien. Im Gegensatz zu den momentan verfügbaren Observatorien wie XMM und Chandra, sollen IXO und SIMBOL-X auch im harten Röntgenbereich oberhalb von ca. 10 keV noch effizient abbilden können. Dies erfordert Wolter-Optiken mit Fokallängen um 20m, was zu einer Satellitengröße führen würde, welche die Transportkapazität aktueller Startsysteme übersteigt. Aus diesem Grund ist SIMBOL-X als zwei Satelliten-System geplant - Spiegel und Detektoren befinden sich in getrennten Raumfahrzeugen, welche einen engen Formationsflug ausführen. Beim IXO Projekt, welches Teil des Cosmic Vision Programms der ESA und der Decadal Whitepapers der NASA ist, geht man einen anderen Weg: Die Detekoren werden sich auf einer ausziehbaren Plattform befinden. Die beiden Hauptdetektoren von SIMBOL-X, ein Silizium (DEPFET) Macropixel Detektor für den niedrigen Energiebereich und ein gepixelter CdTe Detektor für den höheren Energiebereich, sind auch Teil des IXO Instrumentariums. Aufgrund der wissentschaftlichen Zielsetzung auch äußerst schwache Objekte beobachten zu können, müssen beide Detektoren bei beiden Projekten einen möglichst niedrigen Hintergrund aufweisen. Unsere Arbeitsgruppe ist im Rahmen beider Projekte an der Entwicklung des Makropixel Detektors beteiligt.

Simbol-X (artists rendition) IXO (artists rendition)
CREDIT: ASI/CNES CREDIT: NASA
SIMBOL-X IXO
geplanter Start ca. 2013 ca. 2020
Instrumente Low Energy Detector, High Energy Detector Wide Field Imager, Hard X-Ray Imager, X-Ray Microcalorimeter Spectrometer, X-ray Grating Spectrometer, High Timing Resolution Spectrometer, X-ray Polarimeter
Fokallänge 25m, zwei Satelliten 20m, ausfahrbar
Effektive Fläche > 0.05m2(< 35 keV), 0.015m2(50 keV), 0.001m2(67 keV) 3m2(1.25 keV), 0.65m2(6 keV), 0.015m2(30 keV)
Energiebereich (LED/WFI) 0.5 - 20 keV 0.1 - 15 keV
Energiebereich (HED/HXI) 5 - 80 (100) keV ≤ 40 keV
Pixel 128x128 1024x1024
Ortsauflösung 30" 1"/ 30"
Energieauflösung (LED/WFI) ≤ 300 eV 50 -150 eV
Energieauflösung (HED/HXI) ca. 1 keV ca. 1 keV

Weitere Informationen

ESA Seite zu IXO NASA Seite zu IXO


GEANT4 R&D

GEANT4 geometry of IXO WFI

GEANT4 ist ein Software Toolkit, welches am CERN entwickelt wurde. Es dient der Durchführung von Monte Carlo Simulationen im Bereich der Hochenergie Physik. Im Laufe der Jahre wurde GEANT4 beständig weiterentwickelt und erweitert, so dass es nun eine Vielzahl von Teilchen- und Strahlungsinteraktionen mit Materie simulieren kann. Als Teil unserer Arbeit für SIMBOL-X und IXO benutzt unsere Gruppe GEANT4 zu Simulation, Optimierung und Analyse des zu erwartenden orbitalen Detektorhintergrundes. Dies beinhaltet auch die Weiterentwicklung und Validierung des eigentlichen Tool-Kits, insbesondere in den Bereichen radioaktiver Zerfall und Aktivierung.

Kontakt

Technische Universität Darmstadt

Dr. Markus Kuster

+49 6151 16-2321
+49 6151 16-4321

Institut für Kernphysik

S2|14 219
Schlossgartenstraße 9
64289 Darmstadt

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
CSS ist valide!

A A A | Drucken | Impressum | Sitemap